You are here

Delaware Aviation Hall of Fame announces 6 Inductees for 2018

Delaware Aviation Hall of Fame Honors 2018 Inductees
NEWARK – The Delaware Aviation Hall of Fame (DAHF) will induct six notable First State aviation achievers for 2018. The inductees will be celebrated at an Honors Banquet at the University of Delaware’s Clayton Hall on November 3, 2018. Founded in 2000 to commemorate outstanding service in military and civilian aviation, the Hall of Fame has now recognized, through 2017, a total of 110 current or former Delawareans who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of aviation/aerospace in Delaware, brought singular credit to the First State in their achievements elsewhere and/or have shown gallantry in aviation in service to the First State and/or the Nation.

The 2018 Delaware Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Thomas Carper - Senator Carper served five years on active duty, including three tours in Southeast Asia during the Vietnam War, before transferring to the reserve. He served as a PC, Aircraft Mission Commander, retiring with the rank of Captain in 1991 after 23 years of military service. He continues to support Delaware aviation in public elected life.

George Hebbel – George T. Hebbel enlisted in the Army and trained as a fighter pilot with the 27th Fighter Group. While stationed in Corsica during WWII, his P-47 Thunderbolt was shot down behind enemy lines in German occupied France. With the help a local farmer who hid him in the attic of his farmhouse, and with help from the French Resistance, he was transported in disguise to Switzerland where he rejoined his unit. George passed away August 22, 2017.

David Henderson – Major Henderson’s aviation career began in the USAF stationed in Vietnam as an electronics expert crew chief for a variety of aircraft including the AC-130 Gunships, F-4 Phantoms, and F-105 Wild Weasels. He went on to hold five different duty positions with many types of aircraft including Helicopters. When Mr. Henderson returned home, he purchased an 80-acre airport in Kent County that still bears his name. His real aspiration of restoring Cubs was realized. Major David Henderson also joined the Civil Air Patrol 43 years ago where he served most of his time as a search and rescue mission pilot and is qualified as an Incident Commander (IC2).

Kathleen Lambert Kathleen Lambert served as loadmaster, evaluator, and instructor loadmaster on both the C-5 Galaxy and C-17 Globemaster. As an Air Force Reservist, she was assigned to Dover Air Force Base and logged over 11,407 flight hours in 66 countries. 680 of those flight hours were served in combat supporting Desert Shield, Desert Storm, Enduring Freedom, and Iraqi Freedom. Her Awards include the Meritorious Service Medal with 2 Oak Leaf Clusters, 2 Air Medals, 5 Aerial Achievement Medals, the Kuwait Liberation Medal and the Air Force Command Award for sustaining 10,000 mishap free flight hours.

Franklin Wooten – Franklin R. Wooten, was born in Upland PA. At just 18 years old he started his aviation career flying with Piasecki Aircraft Company's flying club. He went on to accumulate thousands of hours in trainers, fighters and transport aircraft serving in the Delaware Air National Guard at New Castle Airfield for over 32 years. He earned numerous awards and retired as a Lt. Colonel and Command Pilot. Mr. Wooten retired from Boeing Helicopters in Philadelphia PA., after 43 years as a Senior Manager in the development and fabrication of Chinook Helicopter main drive gears.

Gerard van Dyk – Gerard van Dyk’s aviation career has spanned over fifty years. Van moved to Delaware in 1962 after serving in the Royal Dutch Air Force. “Van” was the Director of Maintenance at Summit Aviation for eight years before starting his own maintenance facility. Mr. van Dyk owned and operated a large Part 145 repair station at the New Castle Airport for twenty eight years.

For more information on the Delaware Aviation Hall of Fame, go to our web site; by email directly to Bruce Lambrecht (; or by regular mail to
DAHF, P.O. Box 4303, Greenville, DE 19807-0303.

Ceremony to honor the inductees will be November 3, 2018